Oklahoma House of Representatives

Media Division

November 30, 2010


Contact: House Media

Capitol: (405) 557-7421

Speaker-elect Announces House Committee Leadership

OKLAHOMA CITY – Oklahoma House Speaker Kris Steele today announced committee chairs for the 2011 and 2012 legislative sessions.

The committee chairs will be active in advancing legislation arising from the House Republican caucus agenda while also dealing with the thousands of other bills filed each year.

“Given the significant challenges we face as a state, it is important to appropriately utilize the talents and skills of all 101 members of this chamber,” said Steele, R-Shawnee. “I am confident that we have assembled a team of experienced leaders to serve as committee chairs who will develop and advance conservative, pro-growth policies that move Oklahoma forward.”

The chairs and vice-chairs for the 26 committees and subcommittees are as follows:

Appropriations & Budget

Rep. Earl Sears, R-Bartlesville, Chair

Rep. Scott Martin, R-Norman, Vice-Chair

Human Services

Rep. Pam Peterson, R-Tulsa, Chair

Rep. Mike Sanders, R-Kingfisher, Vice-Chair

Government Modernization, Transparency & Accountability

Rep. Jason Murphey, R-Guthrie, Chair

Rep. Wes Hilliard, D-Sulphur, Vice-Chair

Higher Education & Career Tech

Rep. Todd Thomsen, R-Ada, Chair

Rep. Steve Kouplen, D-Beggs, Vice-Chair

General Government

Rep. Dennis Johnson, R-Duncan, Chair

Rep. Mike Christian, R-Oklahoma City, Vice Chair

Energy & Utility Regulation

Rep. John Trebilcock, R-Broken Arrow, Chair

Rep. Mike Jackson, R-Enid, Vice-Chair

Public Health

Rep. John Enns, R-Enid, Chair

Rep. David Derby, R-Owasso, Vice-Chair

Administrative Rules and Agency Oversight

Rep. George Faught, R-Muskogee, Chair

Rep. Purcy Walker, D-Elk City, Vice-Chair

Veterans & Military Affairs

Rep. Paul Wesselhoft, R-Moore, Chair

Rep. Lewis Moore, R-Edmond, Vice-Chair


Rep. Fred Jordan, R-Jenks, Chair

Rep. Colby Schwartz, R-Yukon, Vice-Chair


Rep. T.W. Shannon, R-Lawton, Chair

Rep. Charlie Joyner, R-Midwest City, Vice-Chair

Public Safety

Rep. Sue Tibbs, R-Tulsa, Chair

Rep. Steve Martin, R-Bartlesville, Vice-Chair

Agriculture, Wildlife & Environment

Rep. Phil Richardson, R-Minco, Chair

Rep. Todd Russ, R-Cordell, Vice-Chair

Common Education

Rep. Ann Coody, R-Lawton, Chair

Rep. Jabar Shumate, D-Tulsa, Vice-Chair


Rep. Gary Banz, R-Midwest City, Chair

Rep. Weldon Watson, R-Tulsa, Vice-Chair


Rep. Charles Key, R-Oklahoma City, Chair

Rep. Dan Kirby, R-Tulsa, Vice-Chair

Economic Development, Tourism & Financial Services

Rep. Randy McDaniel, R-Edmond, Chair

Rep. Charles Ortega, R-Altus, Vice-Chair

Long-term Care & Senior Services

Rep. Sally Kern, R-Oklahoma City, Chair

Rep. R.C. Pruett, D-Antlers, Vice-Chair

Appropriations Subcommittee on Revenue & Taxation

Rep. David Dank, R-Oklahoma City, Chair

Rep. Pat Ownbey, R-Ardmore, Vice-Chair

Appropriations Subcommittee on Education

Rep. Lee Denney, R-Cushing, Chair

Rep. Corey Holland, R-Marlow, Vice-Chair

Appropriations Subcommittee on General Government & Transportation

Rep. Guy Liebmann, R-Oklahoma City, Chair

Rep. Harold Wright, R-Weatherford, Vice-Chair

Appropriations Subcommittee on Public Health & Social Services

Rep. Doug Cox, R-Grove, Chair

Rep. Marian Cooksey, R-Edmond, Vice-Chair

Appropriations Subcommittee on Human Services

Rep. Ron Peters, R-Tulsa, Chair

Rep. Jason Nelson, R-Oklahoma City, Vice-Chair

Appropriations Subcommittee on Natural Resources & Regulatory Services

Rep. Don Armes, R-Faxon, Chair

Rep. Leslie Osborn, R-Tuttle, Vice-Chair

Appropriations Subcommittee on Public Safety

Rep. Lisa Billy, R-Purcell, Chair

Rep. Mike Ritze, R-Broken Arrow, Vice-Chair

Appropriations Subcommittee on Judiciary

Rep. Gus Blackwell, R-Goodwell, Chair

Rep. Mark McCullough, R-Sapulpa, Vice-Chair

[Special thanks to Rep. Charles Key for providing this information in a downloadable format on scribd / congratulations to all the new committee chairs and vice chairs.  R3s look forward to working with all of you!]